Thread: New guy

1. New guy referred by DeeDay

Hey all new guy here. I was referred by DeeDay. Im a painting contractor and was painting his house last year. We got to talking when I saw his bikes in his garage so I reached out to him to see if he would take a look at one I am thinking of getting and here I am!! Was hoping he would come with me to look at it but he is no longer in the state. I bought my first bike when I was 17, a 72 wide glide shovel head rode that for a decade and decided to get something newer, worst mistake I made!!! Anyway ran through numerous other new bikes but have always wanted an older pan and I have a chance to pick this one up. Hoping for your thoughts on it and anything specific that would scare you away from it. Also would be interested in what $$ you would think its worth. Titled as a 57 custom build. I am planning on going today to look at it and take it for a ride. So I can take me pics and post if need be!! Thanks in advance for any info.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by thefibber; 06-02-2019 at 08:41 AM.

Re: New guy

Not sure why my first response didn't show up. Welcome to this crazy obsession. I am sure that the guys here that are much more knowledgeable then me will chime in on values, but I think a bike like that would be worth around 6 to 7,000 +- depending on a couple things. From the pic it looks like it is a pieced together repop bike, which is great if you are looking for an inexpensive rider. I noticed that special construction bikes are more difficult to sell, even for lower prices. I personally will pay more for a HD titled bike that may need some more work then a special construction that has all new bits and pieces on it.
    Going in circles on a rock in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

47 EL
    58 FLH
    59 165 Lightweight
    98 XL
    76 CB360

It is a cool looking ride.

looks like a fun rider quality bike, but the value will be very low as it it mostly repop parts.