Thread: 1925 J/JD questions

1. 1925 J/JD questions

Hi All, I am just getting started on a new project, a 1925 J/JD. Go figure, I would start a project with all the hard to find 1 year only parts. I would not have taken this one on except that it had such nice sheet metal/frame, wheels, tranny etc. Other then the usual hard to find parts such as switch/fuse box, horn, headlight,carb and battery box it has the wrong engine with it. It came with a 22 J engine so I need to find/build a 25 J/JD engine and trade/sell the 22 J engine.
    First question the literature that I have says nothing about spark plugs, the 22 engine takes 7/8 plugs what does everyone run? I know Model A ford uses that size but what about heat ranges? Also the 1925 parts book has weird part numbers for the hardware, Is there any cross references for later part numbers for the hardware? I have several coffee cans with NOS and used original hardware and can certainly find hardware that fits but want to use the correct stuff.
    Battery box: I have not run across repop battery boxes, I understand it uses the earlier smaller battery. What is the differences in the 24 and earlier boxes? Is it just the mounting brackets?
    Hardware finishes; I need to know the correct finish of the clutch pedal and linkage. finish on tank bolts also, original bolts have no finish left, cad, nickel and parkerized are available, I can refinish my originals but need correct finish. Are the wheel spokes cad or nickel? Nipples appear to have been parkerized. I am sure that I will have plenty of more questions in the future.

Re: 1925 J/JD questions

1925 has a 1 yr only clutch rod/bearing..gearbox should have 25 number

Re: 1925 J/JD questions

I run Autolite 3076 plugs in my '16J; and they are available at NAPA auto parts. I guess you could also find NOS 7/8" plugs on-line.