Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My 1946 Indian Chief a little different now

1. My 1946 Indian Chief a little different now

Hello fellow members,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all members who have guided me thorugh this journey :-). Sharing updates on my 1946 chief that I have been working on slowly since Feb 2013 correcting incorrect parts. Aim was to try and replace incorrect parts with original parts wherever possible and make the bike as correct as possible preserving the patina as much as possible. Had a good start in terms of an original chief.

- Corrected fender light with correct original light from Ziggys
    - Corrected head light with nice original motolamp headlight
    - Replaced speedometer with correct red bar original speedometer from Terry Marsh (highly recommend, a true gentleman to work with)
    - Had to have the gas tanks re-done, they kept springing a leak on me. Sent them to Moyers in PA for the renu process. Left the small dings and dents in them and had the painter match the patina on the fenders as much as possible. Moyers took a longtime but did a good job.
    - Changed seat to an older chumme seat I found off of ebay, seat pan is a harley seat pan (so the wife can ride with me :-))
    - Found a nice original set of chumme seat springs from Ziggys
    - Added older passenger foot rests found in Rhinebeck,NY. One was painted black and the other chrome. Stripped them both and had them parkerized (may not be the right finish for foot rests, just wanted a dull finish to suit the bike)
    - Added older saddlebags, was lucky to find a nice set that matches the chumme seat in Oley, PA
    - Corrected front brake hardware (from Jerry Greers Engg)
    - Most of the hardware on the bike was wrong, corrected all of it except the links on the girder front end
    - Changed gas caps to the older stanton caps, found a nice original oil cap as well that suits the bike well from Ziggy