Thread: how to take apart girder for new risers. Chief 1947

how to take apart girder for new risers. Chief 1947

Hi all. I have a 1947 Chief and I am trying to take the old risers off and replace them. I am having a hard time getting the shackles off. Any tricks? If I take off the nuts on the ends of the threaded rods should the shackles slide off? do I need to squeeze the front end together like a harley springer to do this? Any help would be great I just picked this bike up the other day and cant wait to have it on the road. Thanks Denis

Re: how to take apart girder for new risers. Chief 1947

I am far from an expert but about 25yrs ago I had to replace one of my shackles and it not only had the bolt holdin it on but was threaded onto the shaft. It was a real pain to figure out with out a manuel but I managed to do it. Someone here with alot more knowledge will chime in for sure.

A little more knowledge, not a lot. One side, I forget which, has threaded holes in the shackles. The other has tapers and locknuts. Take all the nuts off and tap the shackles till the taper releases. Whichever end depends on how they've been assembled. Sorry can't be more precise. HTH, Neil

Right! One side is threaded, the other tapered. Best to compress and hold the springs to disassemble and re-assemble, here's one way:

1946 Chief - take apart and put back together

hey thanks guys. So the right side has those bolts with 2 flat spots.. Do I back those out? and the left side is tapered? I dont think this thing has ever been apart in 65 years! Thanks again Denis