Thread: Best All around Cannonball Bike? 101 scout? HD JD ?

Best All around Cannonball Bike? 101 scout? HD JD ?

I have no knowledge of early vintage bikes such as the Indian Scout or 20's JD's. But just as a novice on the other side of the fence point of view. I would have to say that the simplicity of the Indian scout has it's advantages and I personally think Josh couldn't of picked a better bike for the race.

I would like to see some discussion here on the pro's and cons of either bike, or the others too for that matter in the cannonball race.

Also, one thing that sticks in my mind is while running with Steve Rinker, when we got separated for Josh at one of the fuel stops. As soon as we pulled into a brief meet and greet at a vfw or American legion. He came up to me and said, "I trashed my motor! At that last fuel stop, when I was kicking it over it was tight, and I can feel the heat coming off it. I built it to run at 42 mph, and I've been pushing it averaging 48 mph. I've been pushing it too hard, I trashed my motor."

We just didn't have any time to discuss it any further, but I'm just wondering from some of the Indian scout experts what he was talking about as far as building a motor to run a designed speed? Is it tolerances?

Anyways, just thought I would put a bug out there and see what kind of discussions we get. Just looks like that 101 is a simple engine compared to the JD's. And I don't think HD came out with a 45 flatty until late 29-30 ish?

TC
    1947 EL
    1948 FL Project
    1947WL Project
    2000FLSTC

But there's booze in the blender
    And soon it will render
    That frozen concoction that helps me hang on

You never get better....you just get less awful. "Joe Walsh"

Re: Best All around Cannonball Bike? 101 scout? HD JD ?

The 101 Scout is a wonderful bike that handles better then a Harley JD, but I feel the JD is a stronger bike for the hard and long miles we pound out every day here on the Cannonball.
    Buzz Kanter