 | | 
07-06-2009, 08:24 PM
|  | Super Moderator | | Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: Puget Sound, America
Posts: 4,417
| | | Re: Hey Buzz! More @#$%&*! SPAM
Bloodhound is an 'adware' or sometimes called 'malware', with a "low" level of threat. What happens is, it opens up one of those damn banner/popup ads, and if you click on it, the worm installs itself on an unprotected computer. Once installed, it will try to steal your information such as bank accounts, usernames, passwords and credit card details, then send it back to the attacker. This is a very common form of a phisher. Most all good active anti-virus software will catch these things, but the trick is to have and use the software, and update it regularly. I use the automatic update setting.
More info:
Bloodhound.exploit.213 is a mischievous exploit trojan that disables system functions in Windows and installs additional infections onto the affected machine. After Exploit.213 has sneaked inside the system it will install corrupt getfile[1].pdf files and download further viruses. Bloodhound.exploit.213 infects Computer's through corrupt porn content images and movie downloads, unwanted e-mails and AciveX updates. Bloodhound.exploit.213 can harm system files and hold back memory and computer performance.
__________________
52 HydraGlide
59 Pan/Knuck Chopper
77 Stroker Shovel FLH
94 Evo Secret Components
Last edited by Bigincher; 07-06-2009 at 08:29 PM.
| 
07-06-2009, 11:14 PM
| | Senior Member | | Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 373
| | | Re: Hey Buzz! More @#$%&*! SPAM
Howz about instead of defending the crap and trying to keep the malware from getting from the banner ads & spam to our computers, we just get rid of the frikken' banner ads & spam? I don't have ANY of these problems with other sites, and I do have good anti-virus, popup blocker, etc.- and my laptop is still totally fragged and useless from that crap on here that hit me a while back- and I did NOT click on any banner ads or such. This fricken' commercial malware SUCKS- how many more people have to get hit before it becomes a "bad idea"?
__________________
2000 Indian Chief
1947 Indian Chief Bobber
1947 Indian Chief Basket
1928 Indian 4, model 401
| 
07-06-2009, 11:39 PM
|  | Super Moderator | | Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: Puget Sound, America
Posts: 4,417
| | | Re: Hey Buzz! More @#$%&*! SPAM
I totally agree!
__________________
52 HydraGlide
59 Pan/Knuck Chopper
77 Stroker Shovel FLH
94 Evo Secret Components
| 
07-07-2009, 01:13 AM
|  | Member | | Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: New York City
Posts: 30
| | | Re: Hey Buzz! More @#$%&*! SPAM
this is the very first time I've ever had any kind of virus or whatever on my computer from any of the 3 forums i belong too. no big deal as long as my anti-virus caught it!
I don't mind some banner ads here and there if it helps keep these sites free. virus's on the other hand well... lol
__________________ Little Al 3 time Iron Butt Association Award Recipient
MPMT Certified-2007, Advanced-2008, Advanced II-2009 www.nycmetromotorskills.com '08 Anniversary Ultra
'00 Electraglide Std.
'83 FXRT Shovelhead
'76 Liberty Sporty
'54 FL Panhead
| 
07-07-2009, 01:26 AM
|  | CAIMag Author | | Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: North Hills/Pine Grove, CA
Posts: 4,250
| | | Re: Hey Buzz! More @#$%&*! SPAM Quote:
Originally Posted by CAI-admin If you can determine the user that sent the SPAM via private message, I'd like to know who it was. I will instantly ban him from the premises for life. I hate, hate, hate SPAM -- but I gotta know about it to get rid of what very little SPAM still manages to get through. Thanks. | It is the SPAM bar above this section. Now it is American Airlines.
__________________
Chris Haynes
A.M.C.A. Member
Charter Member and first Vice President of Los Angeles Chapter. http://vintageamericanmotorcycles.com/Be sure to register so you can view large photos
| 
07-07-2009, 09:46 AM
|  | Administrator | | Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 72
| | | Re: Hey Buzz! More @#$%&*! SPAM
What you are talking about are Google AdSense banner ads. Those ads bring us in a lot of money. If you could tell me which ads are causing the problem, I can complain to Google. I run a PC at work, and so far I haven't been affected with diddly squat, so I am not sure what the issue is. There is nothing specific I can get my hands on.
| 
07-07-2009, 11:10 AM
| | Senior Member | | Join Date: Oct 2007 Location: N W Ohio
Posts: 351
| | | Re: Hey Buzz! More @#$%&*! SPAM
I honestly have not had a problem either. I am so mused to seeing ads at the top of everything, that I don't even notice them anymore. I have had no infections, or pop ups from this site.
Mike
| 
07-07-2009, 12:02 PM
|  | CAIMag Author | | Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: North Hills/Pine Grove, CA
Posts: 4,250
| | | Re: Hey Buzz! More @#$%&*! SPAM Quote:
Originally Posted by CAI-admin What you are talking about are Google AdSense banner ads. Those ads bring us in a lot of money. If you could tell me which ads are causing the problem, I can complain to Google. I run a PC at work, and so far I haven't been affected with diddly squat, so I am not sure what the issue is. There is nothing specific I can get my hands on. | It also covers the Private Messages window when you open it to read your messages.
"Bring us in a lot of money" sums it up doesn't it? One would think that the cost of maintaining this web site would be a 100% tax deduction for Buzz. But I guess a businessman just can't pass up any opportunity to make money.
__________________
Chris Haynes
A.M.C.A. Member
Charter Member and first Vice President of Los Angeles Chapter. http://vintageamericanmotorcycles.com/Be sure to register so you can view large photos
| 
07-07-2009, 03:37 PM
| | Senior Member | | Join Date: Oct 2007 Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,301
| | | Re: Hey Buzz! More @#$%&*! SPAM
Ouch !!!!
I think the Google link may be the cause of the virus situation of the members pc's. Grant it, I use Google myself. It is a great search engine. Today, while searching Google for the wife, my AVG stopped viruses three times, in as many minutes.
On the money side of things, S&S makes zero return on their forum. Even their company links are minimal. They sponsor their forum for the benefit of all. I'm sure they can write it off though. They just don't permit outside solicitations.
| 
07-07-2009, 04:38 PM
|  | Member | | Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: New York City
Posts: 30
| | | Re: Hey Buzz! More @#$%&*! SPAM
is there something inherently evil in a business making money? I certainly hope not. the fact that my bosses company makes money is what enables him to employ me to make money & spend it on my Pan, lol
seriously though, why is it so many people seem to resent that businesses operate for profit. How do YOU get YOUR money?
__________________ Little Al 3 time Iron Butt Association Award Recipient
MPMT Certified-2007, Advanced-2008, Advanced II-2009 www.nycmetromotorskills.com '08 Anniversary Ultra
'00 Electraglide Std.
'83 FXRT Shovelhead
'76 Liberty Sporty
'54 FL Panhead
|  | | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | |
Similar Threads | | Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | | Buzz | jmanjeff | Classic American Iron Motorcycle Forum | 3 | 02-23-2009 10:54 AM | | yo buzz | nuklhd | American Iron Magazine | 3 | 12-30-2008 06:03 AM | | Hey Buzz!!! | Chris Haynes | General Motorcycle Discussion | 5 | 07-23-2008 04:19 PM | | buzz | nuklhd | General Motorcycle Discussion | 6 | 05-24-2008 04:07 PM | | AIM & Buzz | chiefj48 | General Motorcycle Discussion | 6 | 12-01-2007 04:26 PM | | » Banners | CLASSIC AMERICAN IRON BOOKSHOP CALENDARS | Classic American Iron BOOKS CAIMag Select DVD's |